Home General News Prime Minister hits back at Russian sanctions

Prime Minister hits back at Russian sanctions

by Anthony L. Gonzalez

South Australian Prime Minister Peter Malinauskas has targeted the Russian president after he was named on a list of Australians subject to sanctions.

More than 120 Australians, including journalists, businessmen, and defense officials, were added to Russia’s list of sanctioned individuals late Thursday, accused of promoting a “Russophobic agenda”.

Malinauskas was the sole head of state and was proud to be there.

Prime Minister hits back at Russian sanctions“My government has tried to do several things to send a very clear signal that the people of South Australia are firmly behind Ukraine, as is every state and territory – and I’m just thankful that Vladimir Putin noted this.

“Malinauskas is a Lithuanian name [and] my family knows all too well the human tragedy that can occur from unacceptable Russian aggression. I am very proud that my government has played a leading role and look forward to doing so in the future.”

Malinauskas previously said in a tweet that he would not be bullied by Putin.

“While traveling to Russia was not on my bucket list, it appears that this decision was made in response to my government’s strong stance on standing up for Ukraine,” he said.

‘Vladimir Putin, I will not be bullied. The South Australian government will not be bullied, and I will continue championing democracy.”

SA’s actions in response to the war in Ukraine include removing state government investments in Russian assets, sending medical equipment to the region, and resettling Ukrainian refugees.

View the full Russian list here.

Others on the Russian list include ABC chairman Ita Buttrose, News Corp co-chair Lachlan Murdoch, and Defense Forces General Angus Campbell, among other businessmen, newspaper editors, academics, and think tank leaders.

Media personalities Stan Grant, Andrew Bolt, and Liz Hayes were included. Atlassian co-founders Mike Cannon-Brookes and Scott Farquhar, mining magnates Andrew “Twiggy” Forrest and Gina Rinehart, Nine Entertainment Group chairman Peter Costello, and Meriton apartment developer Harry Triguboff.

The foreign ministry said those on the list will not be allowed to enter Russia indefinitely.

On Thursday, the Russian Foreign Ministry said the move followed the Australian government’s sanctions against Russian individuals after Russia invaded Ukraine on Feb. 24.

It added that it could expand the blacklist as the Australian government “seems unwilling to give up its anti-Russia policy and continue to issue new sanctions”.

Russia describes its troops’ incursion into Ukraine as a “special military operation” to disarm and “denazify” its neighbor.

Ukraine and its allies have dismissed this as nonsense.

In May, Australia imposed sanctions on more than 70 Russian politicians and 30 local officials in Ukraine’s eastern separatist regions of Donetsk and Luhansk.

Related Articles